top of page

City Council

The City Council is comprised of five elected officials. Although all Council members share equal authority, the Mayor serves as the Council President. As the City's governing body, the Council is responsible for enacting ordinances, establishing local tax rates, approving the budget, and planning for the future to meet the needs of the community. 

Each Council Member is assigned as a department head with specific responsibilities and oversight of the functions of that department. The Mayor and Council Members serve 4-year terms.

Picture of Richard Reichner

Richard Reichner

Accounts and Finance

John Barnhart Picture

John Barnhart

Public Safety

City of Sunbury Seal

Lisa Martina

Streets and Public Improvements

Picture of James Eister

James Eister

Parks and Public Property

The goals of the City Council are to enact responsible legislation for the prudent and ethical operation of the City Government, to assist in the planning of the City's revitalization and future, and to maintain free and open discussions with the City Administration and City residents to ensure smooth and efficient operation of government for the City of Sunbury, Pennsylvania.  

Regular meetings of the City Council occur on the 2nd and 4th Mondays. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend in person in Council Chambers, 2nd floor of the Municipal Building at 225 Market Street. For meeting schedule, agendas, minutes, and rules for public comment. Click button below. 

bottom of page